The monastery is part of a series of religious structures built between the 10th and 11th century along the Tiber, along the pilgrimage road leading to Rome.
With the seal by Innocent III dated October 13, 1207 the apostolic protection was confirmed and for the first time the monastery is clearly mentioned through its master's name Egidius of S.J. de Cuti. In 1355, a small group of Cistercian monks seekd refuge in the convent. In 1404 Nicolò Offreduzzi restored the complex and give it back to the Order of Friars Minor.
With the 1860 requisition the monastery was abandoned for almost sixty years before being purchased by a private individual who fully restored the building.
Nowadays, the monastery is a cozy country hotel with many guest bedrooms and apartments. The old cloister has been converted into a beautiful outdoor common area and the terraced garden with pool offers a stunning view over the surrounding countryside. Privacy is granted by 9 hectares of land, over half of which enclosed by a typical stone wall.